Expungement Legislative Updates
This section will tell you more about recent expungement laws and how they might be able to help you.
Utah’s Clean Slate Law (HB 431)
This law automates the criminal record expungement process for most misdemeanor level offenses, so long as individuals have the type and number of records that are eligible for expungement and have remained crime free for a set period of time. For more information about Utah’s Clean Slate law, click here.
Expungement Modifications (SB 35)
This bill makes a number of process improvements to Utah’s petition-based expungement system. It also adjusts the numerical limits on offenses to allow for expungement of an unlimited number of misdemeanor B and C level offenses and an unlimited number of drug possession offenses if a person remains crime free for over 10 years.
Expungement Fee Amendments (HB 392)
This bill creates a pilot program that significantly reduces government fees associated with the expungement process. More specifically, between May 4, 2022 and June 30, 2023, no BCI certificate fees or court fees will be charged. As a result of this legislation, applicants will only have to pay the $65 application fee.